About Us

The Caroline County Department of Emergency Services (DES) exists to provide high-quality emergency services within Caroline County and was established by County Resolution 2008-23 in 2008 to improve the administrative efficiency and the provision of services of the Department of Emergency Medical Services and the Department of Emergency Management. The resolution established three divisions within DES: Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Management, and Emergency Communications.

Emergency Communications Division

The Emergency Communications Division is the official Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) for the county. The Communications Center is operated on a twenty-four-hour basis, receives 911 calls, and dispatches emergency response services including EMS, Law Enforcement, and Fire/Rescue. 

Emergency Medical Services Division

The Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Division provides pre-hospital emergency medical services to the citizens of Caroline County. EMS utilizes Maryland State Protocols and provides Advanced Life Support (ALS) out of six stations located in:

  • Goldsboro, MD
  • Greensboro, MD
  • Ridgely, MD
  • Denton, MD
  • Preston, MD
  • Federalsburg, MD

Emergency Management Division

The Emergency Management Division is responsible for the development and maintenance of the county emergency management program. This includes all disaster preparedness, hazard mitigation, and emergency planning activities to include the development and maintenance of the Caroline County Emergency Operations Plan. Emergency Management is also responsible for public alert and warning, operation of the County Emergency Operations Center (EOC), and working closely with regional, state, and federal partners to ensure life safety, property and environmental protection, and recovery before, during, and following times of emergency or disaster.

  1. Emergency Services

    Physical Address
    9391 Double Hills Road
    Denton, MD 21629

    Phone: 410-479-2622
    Fax: 410-479-0668